Latham smashes century, Kiwis lead series 2-0

NZ vs BAN 2nd ODI Live Score: Mithun brings up quickfire fifty off 43 balls; BAN 228/4 (45); Follow Live updates
NZ vs BAN 2nd ODI Live Score: Mithun brings up quickfire fifty off 43 balls; BAN 228/4 (45); Follow Live updates

NZ beats Ban by 5 wickets in 2nd ODI: Latham smashes century, Kiwis take unassailable 2-0 lead in ODI series; Follow Highlights- A dominating batting performance from Tom Latham (unbeaten 110) ad Devon Conway’s 72 have helped New Zealand defeat Bangladesh by 5 wickets and take an unassailable 2-0 in the ODI series. In his innings, Latham slammed 10 fours while Conway hit 7 fours. For Bangladesh, Mustafizur Rahman and Mehdi Hasan took two wickets each.

Earlier, Bangladesh posted 271/6 in 50 overs with Tamim Iqbal and Mohammad Mithun scoring a half-century each in the 2nd ODI against New Zealand at the Hagley Oval on Monday.

After losing an early wicket, skipper Iqbal (78) anchored the innings and he was followed by Mithun, who scored a quickfire 73 off 57 balls to help Bangladesh post a competitive total despite some tight bowling in the early and middle overs by New Zealand bowlers.

New Zealand were off to a good start with Matt Henry scalping Liton Das for a duck in the 2nd over. While skipper Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar steadied the ship, some tight bowling kept them at bay and runs were hard to come by. Only Iqbal, to some extent, was successful in finding the gaps and punishing the short balls.

Iqbal survived twice. First, he was given out for an edge. But Iqbal was quick to take the DRS and was given not out following the review as the ball touched the pad and not the bat. Then again in the 16th over, Kyle Jamieson caught and bowled Iqbal but the third umpire gave him not out controversially as he deemed the bowler not in control of the catch as the ball made contact with the ground.

However, his brilliant innings finally came to an end in the 31st over after he was run out by Jimmy Neesham on 78. Then on, Mohammad Mithun took the fight to NZ bowlers, scoring a quickfire fifty off 43 balls to keep Bangladesh afloat. In the end, Bangladesh posted 271/6 in 50 overs.

(NZ beats Ban)

New Zealand Innings275/5 (48.2 ov)

NZ vs BAN Live score: Bangladesh Innings 271/6 (50 ovs)


Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal(c), Liton Das(w), Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman
New Zealand (Playing XI):
Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Devon Conway, Will Young, Tom Latham(w/c), James Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Trent Boult

NZ vs BAN 1st ODI: Tom Latham-led New Zealand thrash Bangladesh by 8 wickets in 1st ODI, Trent Boult stars with 4 wickets (New Zealand vs Bangladesh). A top bowling performance from New Zealand pacer Trent Boult has helped Kiwis defeat Bangladesh in the ODI opener. – Read More

Match: New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2nd ODI (NZ vs BAN)

Date: 23th March 2021

Time: 6:30 AM IST
Venue: Hagley Oval

New Zealand vs Bangladesh Series Full Schedule

New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI Schedule

1st ODI – NZ vs BAN 1st ODI, Mar 20, Sat

University Oval, Dunedin, 3:30 AM

2nd ODI – NZ vs BAN 2nd ODI, Mar 23, Tue

Hagley Oval, Christchurch 6:30 AM

3rd ODI – NZ vs BAN 3rd ODI, Mar 26, Fri

Basin Reserve, Wellington, 3:30 AM (Mar 26)

New Zealand vs Bangladesh T20 Schedule

1st T20 – NZ vs BAN 1st T20, Mar 28, Sun

Seddon Park, Hamilton, 6:30 AM

2nd T20 – NZ vs BAN 2nd T20, Mar 30, Tue

McLean Park, Napier, 11:30 AM

New Zealand vs Bangladesh Series Squads

New Zealand Squad

Tom Latham (C), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Trent Boult, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Tim Southee, Will Young

Bangladesh Squad

Tamim Iqbal (C), Mosaddek Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Kumar Das, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Taskin Ahmed, Al Amin Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahedi Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Nasum Ahmed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here