Zao Theatre presents ‘The Sound of Music’ March 26-April 17


The Sound of Music will be performed Fridays and Saturdays, March 26-April 17 at Zao Theatre in Apache Junction.

It will be filled with a trove of cherished songs, including “Climb Ev’ry Mountain,” “My Favorite Things,” “Do Re Mi,” “Sixteen Going on Seventeen” and the title number, The Sound of Music, according to a release.

The final collaboration between Rodgers and Hammerstein, The Sound of Music opened on Broadway in 1959 and soon won the hearts of audiences worldwide. The inspirational story, based on the memoir of Maria Augusta Trapp, follows an ebullient postulate who serves as governess to the seven children of the imperious Capt, Von Trapp, bringing music and joy to the household, the release states.

Showtimes are 7:30 p.m. Fridays and 2 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Saturdays. Zao Theatre is at 550 S. Ironwood Drive in Apache Junction. For information and tickets, go to

Performers in the red cast are:

  • Rolf Gruber: Jake Ashton
  • Liesl von Trapp: Lily Nelson
  • Friedrich von Trapp: Bennett Smith
  • Louisa von Trapp: Katrielle Jordan
  • Kurt von Trapp: Zacary Nelson
  • Brigitta von Trapp: Iris VanSlyke
  • Marta von Trapp: Kate Jones
  • Gretl von Trapp: Samantha Jones

Performers in the blue cast are:

  • Rolf Gruber: Ryley Hansen
  • Liesl von Trapp: Devorah Joyce
  • Friedrich von Trapp: Laine Bombard
  • Louisa von Trapp: Elian Anglada
  • Kurt von Trapp: Thomas Dietz
  • Brigitta von Trapp: Campbell Carr
  • Marta von Trapp: Kaylee Forth
  • Gretl von Trapp: Sadie Holdeman

Performers in the red and blue casts are:

  • Maria Rainer: Rebecca Bryce
  • Capt. Georg von Trapp: Bryan Stewart
  • Max Detweiller: Tyler Galley
  • Elsa Schrader: Lauren Tye
  • Mother Abbess: Melissa VanSlyke
  • Sister Berthe: Randi Jill Condit
  • Sister Margaretta: Lynanne Cottle
  • Sister Sophia: Anna Sera
  • Franz: Bob Blaylock
  • Frau Schmidt: Terri Parker
  • Herr Zeller: Greg Nelson
  • Baron Elberfeld: Benjermin Tietz
  • Baroness Elberfeld/Nun: Punawai Tietz
  • Admiral von Schreiber: Jeff Montgomery, Jr
  • Soldiers: Jayden Montgomery, Turner McKenzie, Tyler Snell
  • Postulants: Shayla Montgomery, Sophie-Leigh Jordan, Zoe Bauerle
  • Nuns/Ensemble: Lynn Golden, Brailey McDaniel, Kendall Morgan, Sabrina Petroski, Reagan Ray, Tanya Schoenwolf, Olive VanSlyke, Bonnie Wanstreet


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here